How to remove temporary files

How to remove temporary files

Please use the following method to remove those temporary files.

  • Press the Windows key and R key on your keyboard together.
  • Now you will get a Run window.
  • Inside that Run Window type Temp and press on Ok.
  • It will open one folder C:\WINDOWS\Temp. All of the folders and files you see in this Temp folder are no longer being used by Windows and can safely be deleted.
  • Same way type %temp% in the Run Window and press on Ok.
  • It will open one folder in your user profile. All of the folders and files you see in this Temp folder are no longer being used by Windows and can safely be deleted.
    1. C:\Documents and Settings\{Your User Profile}\Local Settings\Temp (In Windows XP)
    2. C:\Users\{Your User Profile}\AppData\Local\Temp (In Windows Vista and Windows 7)

 

  1. To remove individual folders or files, hold down your Ctrl key while left-clicking on each item you want delete. Release the Ctrl key when you’re finished.

To delete these items, hit your Delete key or choose File and then Delete from the menu.

  1. Confirm that you want to delete the files by clicking Yes on the Confirm Multiple File Delete window that opens.
  2. If you’d instead like to remove everything inside the Temp folder, choose Edit and then Select All from the menu.

Note: If you’re prompted that there are hidden files in this folder, just click on OK to bypass the message. A few hidden files hanging out in the Temp folder probably aren’t important enough to worry about.

  1. Now that all of the files and folders are selected, hit your Delete key or choose File and then Delete from the menu.
  2. Confirm that you want to delete the files by clicking Yes on the Confirm Multiple File Delete window that opens.
  3. After all of the files have been deleted you can close the window and empty your Recycle Bin, permanently removing the files from your PC.

Tips:

  1. You may receive a Error Deleting File or Folder message while the files are being deleted. This just means that one of the files is in use by a program right now. Click OK, close all open programs, and repeat the steps above. If you still receive the message, try restarting your PC and repeating the process again.

Kuttus

Kuttus is an IT professional and a part time blogger. He has started the 123seminarsonly to write his findings gained in daily work life. Kuttus writes articles which are mostly related to technology and Virus Removal. He has been interested in virus and Malware removal. He is working as a remote virus removal technician from the last 7 year.

More Posts - Website

Comments are closed.